Jump to content Jump to footer

Film treaty signed between South Africa and the Netherlands

The Republic of South Africa and the Kingdom of the Netherlands today signed a Co-production treaty for the production of audiovisual works between both countries. Mrs Jet Bussemaker, the Dutch minister for Culture and Mr Nathi Mthethwa, the South African minister of Arts & Culture both signed on behalf of their countries in The Hague.

The treaty will enhance and facilitate the co-production of films and other creative media productions between South Africa and the Netherlands, stimulating the audiovisual industries and the development of cultural and economic exchanges in both countries.

Both countries consider audiovisual productions that are realized in co-production within the established framework as national films. The treaty allows qualifying co-productions to access financing possibilities in both countries. The level of performing, technical and craft contribution of each co-producer must be in line with the financial support that he/she brings to the project, which can be no less than 10% and no more than 90% of the production costs. The framework offers both Dutch and South African films a wider and better access to audiences in both countries and beyond.

The treaty has been negotiated by the Netherlands Film Fund and the National Film and Video Foundation, with support from the Dutch Ministry of Education, Culture and Science, the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Pretoria and the Department for Arts & Culture of the Republic of South Africa. Applications for co-productions will be assessed by the National Film and Video Foundation and the Netherlands Film Fund

Ms. Zama Mkosi, CEO at the National Film and Video Foundation said:
“This occasion marks the 9th co-production treaty partnership for South Africa, previously having signed with Germany, Canada, Italy, United Kingdom, New Zealand, France, Ireland and Australia. South Africa provides comprehensive support for treaty countries, offering the best infrastructure, location, cast and crew, and studios. Filmmakers from both our countries are also going to benefit from the DTI incentive scheme, which its aim is to encourage and attract big-budget productions and post production. We look forward to “co-creating” and enhancing the international profile of both the countries through our storytelling,”

Doreen Boonekamp, CEO of the Netherlands Film Fund said: “The treaty between the Netherlands and South Africa has been eagerly awaited by professionals in both countries in order to create a comprehensive structure for creative bilateral co-operation. Our experience in the exchange of talent and expertise with South Africa through international co-productions such as Black Butterflies, The Price of Sugar and The Dream of Shahrazad reveals promising opportunities for closer co-operation.”
The Netherlands has co-production treaties with France, Canada, Germany and China and will sign a treaty with the French Community of Belgium in the near future.

For more information: the full text of the treaty is can be found here.

Netherlands Film Fund
Contact: Jonathan Mees, communications
cell:+316 40084617
[email protected]

The National Film and Video Foundation
Contact: Naomi Mokhele
Manager Communications
tel: +27 11 483 0880
cell: +27 82 496 9324
[email protected]