Jump to content Jump to footer

European Film Academy Selects Dutch Co-Productions

This year, more films than ever have been selected for the European Film Academy feature and documentary categories. With more films to be announced in September, it seems that 2021 is going to be a record year for high quality European films. This includes several Dutch co-productions!

Due to the pandemic and its consequences, resulting in many festivals being postponed, the European Film Academy announces its complete selection in two parts. Part 1 of the announcement covers 40 features and 15 documentaries. Together, they form the "Feature Film and Documentary Film Selection" of this year. In the following weeks, 4,000 members of the European Film Academy will be able to view the selected films and, after the announcement of all productions, vote for the nominations for best European film, director, actor, actrice, scriptwriter and documentary. Among these potential nominees are the Dutch co-productions:

The selection is made by a commission from the Academy and a wide scale of European experts, whose name will be shared after all productions have been announced. Furthermore, the documentaries have been selected by EFA board members Graziella Bildesheim, Ada Solomon, Katja Gauriloff, Katherin Kohlstedde, Veton Nurkollari, Orwa Nyrabia, Rada Šešić, Rajesh Thind and Ana Vicente.

The European Film Academy also announces a brand new VOD platform to all its members, which has been developed in the 18 month transformation programme in 2021-2022. The new platform provides new functions and a better overview of all selected films, making it more user-friendly to all its members.

The nominations will be announced on November 9th during the European Film Festival in Seville, Spain.

For more information, visit the European Film Academy website here.

*Film is supported by the Netherlands Film Fund.

Source: SEE NL