Jump to contentJump to footer

Treaties and Agreements

Co-production treaties and agreements

Canada (Dutch, English, French)
China (Dutch and English, Chinese)
France (Dutch)
Norway (co-operation agreement with Norwegian Film Institute, English)
VAF (agreement with Flanders Audiovisual Fund, Dutch)
South-Africa (English), memorandum of understanding (English)
French Community of Belgium (Dutch and French), implementation rules (Dutch)

European co-production regulations

The Netherlands has been a signatory to the European Convention on Cinematographic Co-production since the 1st of August 1995. The Netherlands Film Fund is the competent authority in The Netherlands and is responsible for issuing provisional and final co-production approval. This treaty is intended to encourage multi-lateral film co-productions between three or more signatory countries, but also allows for bilateral co-productions where no bi-lateral treaty exists. The convention is limited to films intended for theatrical distribution.

Please ensure you review the convention, which is downloadable, prior to making an application. For a full listing of EU member states that are signatories to the convention, or a list of all competent authorities, visit the Council of Europe website.

Council of Europe Convention on Cinematographic Co-production (revised)


Eurimages, the cultural fund of the Council of Europe, was founded in 1989 and currently has 38 of the 46 member states of the Strasbourg-based Organisation, plus Canada as an associate member. Ilse Ronteltap, the Head of International at the Netherlands Film Fund, represents the Netherlands in Eurimages.